Memories of 2010

I popped down to the beach for a while today – I sat in the car just watching the waves, thinking about things past and despite 2010 being a year I’m glad to have in the past, the positives far outweighed the negatives.

I saw some interesting things, went to new places and met some cute kids…

Here are some of the photographic memories I have from last year:

(Captions below the photos…)

I took this photo on my way home from work one evening.

This picture was taken during a Sunday lunch Mom, Elizabeth and I had.  I actually tried to catch the rock rabbits (locally called dassies) that were sunning themselves on the rocks, but they didn’t come out.  Still, the view is gorgeous, don’t you think?

This is little Felix, one of Rachel’s many feline children.  She is a mischievous little queen that I absolutely adore.  That pot plant is one of her favourite toys.

When I was still at the farm Linda and I had to go to the main farm in Hermanus for training.  This was taken during that visit.  I posed under the sign because “Fick” is my last name.  We never actually went down to Fick’s pool because we were delayed in our departure.  I will have to go back there one day…

Allan and I got to see the Netherlands vs Cameroon live at the Cape Town Stadium during the FIFA 2010 World Cup.  We had fantastic tickets, 10 rows from the front, right behind the Dutch dugout.  The atmosphere was electric.  Definitely one of the highlights, and if it wasn’t for Dad, it wouldn’t have been possible.

Some woman lost her knickers in the bushes on the road past the Table Mountain Cable Way, or maybe some naughty monkeys stole them…

This is John – he is the little tyke I mentioned in my post yesterday.  At the time of the photo he was just over two months old and he is already crawling.  He is such a content, boisterous little boy.  Real Ladies’ Man as you can see here – he had Sandra eating out of his hand.

This sow and her piglets got into the raspberry fields and had a feast.  Sandra spent half her morning chasing them.  Once they had their fill they trotted off in single file, back to where ever they had come from.

This is another one of the pack house staff’s children.  Her name is Sheila.  At first I thought the cat had her tongue, but once she started talking she didn’t stop.  She drew me a pretty picture the day she came to the office.

This seagull tried to steal the chips off my plate during one of my and Anne’s mid-morning wine drinking sessions.

Guinea fowl moseying about at the Signal Hill lookout point.  The weather that day was gorgeous.

and last, but not least…

a winter’s sunrise one morning on my way to the farm.

So, there are a few of my memories of 2010 – I hope you enjoyed seeing them as much as I enjoyed sharing them.

4 thoughts on “Memories of 2010

  1. Cindy January 14, 2011 / 4:26 pm

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit January 16, 2011 / 1:00 pm

      I found it Cin, I found it – WP marked it as spam (gasp!)…
      And, it was a pleasure sharing, I am glad you enjoyed the walk with me 🙂

  2. Cindy January 14, 2011 / 4:31 pm

    Where’d my comment go …

  3. Mid-Thirty Misfit January 14, 2011 / 4:51 pm

    Don’t know Cin – my email notification only told me of this one. What did you want to say?

Leave a Reply

