Inside Out Challenge

For those of you who don’t really know me, I often suffer from brain itches (which is the term for a song that sticks in your head) and today’s one is courtesy of the sexy Bryan Adams.  It’s called “Inside Out” and I thought it would make a good basis for a BlogLand challenge.

Inside Out

 The biggest lie you ever told

The biggest lie I’ve ever told was to myself – an ex-boyfriend of mine was into things I knew were wrong, but I so wanted to be accepted that I convinced myself that they were okay.  Thank goodness I didn’t get sucked in.

Your deepest fear ‘bout growin’ old

I don’t fear “growin’ old” so much, but I fear “growin’ old” alone.  I am an extremely social person.  I value my family and my friends deeply, but I know that as time moves on, my family members will die and my friends will move on to have their own lives.  I’m scared of being left behind, and alone.

 The longest night you ever spent

Fortunately I’ve only ever spent long nights partying!  Cousin Lara and I went to one of our family reunions one year and we had such fun.  When the party was over, we went to a local haunt until it closed and then went to the beach and watched the sunrise, laughing about all sorts of things.  Happy memory 🙂 

The angriest letter you never sent

I wrote a letter to the ex that broke up with me on Facebook.  I never sent it because I decided not to give him the satisfaction of stealing anymore of my sunshine and happiness. 

 The boy you swore you’d never leave

There was Peter.  I really thought that my first love would be my last.  How so very wrong I was.

 The one you kissed on New Year’s Eve

I don’t remember his name, but I remember telling Cousin Lara – and she nearly died laughing…turned out the guy worked for the local waste company.  For months afterwards she teased me about kissing the garbage man.

 The sweetest dream you had last night

I didn’t have a dream last night, or wait, maybe I did…I can’t remember though

 Your darkest hour, your hardest fight

In late 2008 my gynaecologist found a tumour (*note, the photos are not for the squeamish*) on my one ovary.  She had to operate to determine if it was malignant (thankfully it wasn’t), but I was scared.  It was a hard fight to think that at the age of 29, I had lost another love (for a second time), had my appendix out and then to have to hear that I might not be able to have children because I could have cancer.  Then in 2010 I was diagnosed with depression…I can stand proudly, smile and say, “I have overcome.  Anything that life throws at me in the future, I will overcome – I have a wonderful, omniscient Heavenly Father whose timing is always perfect.  The trials he brings across my path mould me into a better person.

 Chorus

I wanna know you – like I know myself

I’m waitin’ for you – there ain’t no one else

Talk to me baby – scream and shout

I want to you know you – inside out

I wanna dig down deep – I wanna lose sleep

I wanna scream and shout – I wanna know you inside out

I wanna take my time – I wanna know you mind

Ya know there ain’t no doubt – I wanna know you inside out

The saddest song you ever heard

There are two:  Concrete Angel by Martina McBride and Butterfly Kisses -Daddy’s Little Girl by Faith Hill and Tim McGraw.  Both those songs make me cry every time I hear them.

The most you said with just one word

NO!

The loneliest prayer you ever prayed

“Please Lord, don’t let me die.”

 The truest vow you ever made

“I will never forget you.”

What makes you laugh, what makes you cry,

Laugh:  My family, friends, animals, people in general

Cry:  Cruelty to animals, cruelty to the elderly, child abuse

 What makes you mad, what gets you by,

Mad:  Pretentious people, being falsely accused and people jumping to conclusions about things without having all the facts

Gets me by:  My family, my friends and the occasional glass of red wine in a bubble bath

Your highest high, your lowest low

Well, I was very high yesterday after having done very well at my fitness test, but my highest high would be hearing the words, “you have the potential to write an award winning novel.  Don’t you want to enter your manuscript for the Sanlam Youth Literature awards?”

Lowest low:  I have had lows, but not one of them has been a rock-bottom-lowest-one.  I always come out on top!

 

These things I want to know

Chorus x 2

Leave a comment