An Elephant I am Not…

So, we close shop tomorrow for a short break, returning to the working world on Monday, the eighteenth.  I cannot begin to tell you how much I am looking forward to the break, if for nothing else, than to just sleep a bit later in the mornings.

Shayla-Rae and I are hitting the road on Saturday morning, back to her home, which is literally in the woods.  Her hubby is leaving in the wee hours of Sunday morning to go hunting with a friend of theirs, so it’s just us girls, and the four-legged babies for a few days.  I’ll be coming back home on Wednesday and then spending the rest of my break with my parents.

Mom bought me a DIY mosaic kit, but for the life of me, I have no idea where I put it.  I want to take it along to keep myself busy during the few hours that Shayla-Rae has to do some work.  Just because I’m on holiday, it doesn’t mean that she is too.

On the subject of not remembering where stuff has been left… I read an article a while ago about a woman who was treated at the local emergency room for Toxic Shock Syndrome (TSS).  Apparently she forgot to remove her tampon for nine (yes people, nine!) days.

memory-1024x1024

How scary is that?  She could have died!  I’ve heard of preggy-brain, but I’m beginning to wonder if period-brain is something too, because the mosaic went “missing” during Aunt Flo’s visit.  The fact that I am forgetful of late confirms though that my DNA is indeed homosapien and not paciderm.  Anyhow, I will search for the kit tonight, as I begin to get my suitcase packed for the next few days.

Other news in this MTM’s life is that it is cold.  Seriously so.  I am not a big fan of the winter in general, but this past fortnight has been particularly blustery.  And, I’m about to learn even more about what real cold is because Shayla-Rae mentioned that the mountains behind their house are covered in “white icing”.  I am going through my mental closet inventory…no, MTM, you do not own thermal underwear.  Pack your beanies!  And a bottle (or three!) of sherry…

Leave a Reply

