God is Never Late and He is ALWAYS Faithful

I’m officially a student again.  I never had the real student experience though – uni, tech or the like.  I studied after hours, through correspondence for 7 years to obtain the Import and Export Qualifications I have.  Year 7 was a year of doing the same subject twice (and having to pay for it!) and still not completing my Diploma.  One subject, just one subject is all that stood in my way of having an NQF 6 qualification, which while in South Africa is notequivalent to a university  degree, it is in other countries of the world, and, even if it wasn’t – it is an internationally accredited qualification.

I’m a little apprehensive.  After all, it has been 11 years since I last opened a text book.  But, with age comes wisdom (apparently), so maybe this time round I’ll be more grounded in applying what I learn and not just parrot-spewing the words I thought to memorize.  Minor terror aside, I am so grateful for the opportunity to actually be able to complete my studies – without the help of some very special people, I would not have been able to do so.  As I said to my friend, Simon, the other day, International Trade isn’t my first love (writing is), but it is a challenging line of work to be in and it affords me the opportunity to utilize my education.

I was chatting to Cassey, my colleague the other day.  She’s extremely spiritual and has a close walk with God.  I told her that when I started working in 1998, for a company that was just starting up, my boss at the time trusted me enough to leave me alone at the factory after only a few months.  During his absence, documents arrived for an import and I have no idea what to do.  Thankfully I got a call from a customs broker who told me they were looking for said documents, which I obviously sent off.

Upon my boss’s return to the office he told me that for a long while I wasn’t really going to be busy with work – my job at the time pretty much entailed answering the phone, running errands, making coffee and doing a bit of admin – so he would pay for me to study.  Anything I wanted.  Any. Thing.  I opted for something to do with Imports and Exports, because that was what the gist of my work was going to be in the end.  It didn’t seem fair to use his money to study writing or drama.  I can tell you one thing – I didn’t for one minute think I would be working in Imports and Exports 19 years later (granted I’ve changed jobs twice since then).  God knew, even if I didn’t.

In recent weeks I’ve had a very emotional time.  I can’t say too much because many of you who read my blog know my family and I personally, and well, some things are not to be shared on public domain.  Suffice to say though that with this rollercoaster of emotion, a great deal of hopelessness found its way into our lives and it’s in such times that faith is tested.  Really tested.

Today though, after everything, there is good news.  There is hope.  God knows what He’s doing, and to put it in the words of my friend, Marilyn, “He’s never late”.  Everything is working out as it should, as promised in Romans 8:28. 

I’m off to hit the textbooks soon, but not before saying “thank-you” to every person I know was praying for us, and to Him for being so faithful.  The next prayer chain will be for my exams…


2 thoughts on “God is Never Late and He is ALWAYS Faithful

  1. teacupbliss February 9, 2017 / 6:53 am

    What a wonderful boss you had to encourage you to study years ago! Good luck for your exams.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 8, 2017 / 1:28 pm

      Thank you! I can’t believe the time has flown. Six weeks to go…

Leave a Reply

