MTM’s A-Z of Advice

Writer’s Block… I’ve got it.  Big time.  I can say with certainty how many times I’ve started this blog entry, only to erase what I’ve typed.  Everything I type sounds like absolute hooey to me.  So, I opted to go the route of a writing prompt, because if I can’t train my physical muscles anymore (having had to cancel my gym membership), I must definitely exercise my writing ones!  What with it being Monday and all, I decided to go with something easy, and fun.  It is this:

images

My advice alphabet is this:

Air dirty laundry privately, not on social media.

Bake a cake every so often.  Better yet, share it with people you love.

Create something.  Even if it is something only you will ever see.

Drink water. With or without whisky, your choice 🙂

Eat your veggies.

Follow your dreams.

Give to those less fortunate than you are.  Be it of your time, money or possessions.  Do so expecting nothing in return.

Hug someone every day.

Inspect something properly before buying it (a lesson I learned years ago when I bought my hi-fi, only to discover the remote control wasn’t in the box.  It was my word against that of the store…the store won :()

Juggling is part of life.  Be it children, a job, financial commitments, social engagements, financial affairs or whatever-else.  Deal with it as you can, even if that means, doing it one day at a time.

Keep moving forward, no matter at what speed.

Love openly.

Make people feel like they matter.  Be mindful of not only the words you use with others, but your tone too!

Never allow life’s lessons to make you cynical.  I know, I know, it’s easier said than done.

Open the front door and let the fresh air in.

Pray.

Question things you don’t agree with, but keep in mind that your opinion is not necessarily the only right one.

Read!

Shop at thrift stores.  You’ll be surprised at some of the bargains you find!

Take care of yourself first.

Understand that sometimes people will rain on your parade.  When this happens, pretend that you’re a duck.

Valet your car at least once a year.

Write a real letter to someone and post it.

X marks the spot on your ballot paper.

Yell at the top of your lungs on a deserted beach.  It is a great stress reliever!

Zone out every so often; your body, mind and spirit will thank you.

3 thoughts on “MTM’s A-Z of Advice

  1. Chantal April 26, 2016 / 7:13 am

    Hi, what’s your postal address?

    You can email me privately instead of posting it here.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit April 26, 2016 / 3:50 pm

      Hi Chantal – I emailed you at the address that comes up on the wordpress notification of comments.

Leave a Reply

