#10DayBibleVerseChallenge

So, Janine nominated me to post a Bible verse for 10 days on Facebook. As many of you know, Proverbs 18:21 is a very important verse to me. It would make sense to post it on the first day of the challenge. I made this collage because I liked the translations in both the King James Version and The Message; The Old and The New (in a matter of speaking).

2016-01-07_10.43.19

Once again, this got me thinking. So often, we speak life into something, be it our careers, our family, our friends, our relationships, but in the blink of an eye when things don’t go according to our plan, we begin to speak negatively, effectively unraveling everything that we have been building up. We poison our lives, with our own words. Simply put, we choose DEATH.

Just a few days ago, someone I am very close to said, “I’m going to buy myself a white shirt…so when I die, I’ll have something to wear in my coffin.” I immediately bound those words because the person who said them doesn’t realize just how powerful his words are. I also told him, quite loudly, to “Stop saying things like that. Just stop. Your words are hurting you AND me.” The white shirt remained on the hanger, in the store, fortunately.

Now, I know it’s not easy to always stay positive, especially when (to name but a few,) economies are failing, when governments are corrupt, when racism abounds, when we fail at something, when we lose a loved one, when we lose our jobs, when our prayers seem to go unanswered, when we’re stressed, when we overworked, when our kids are disobedient or rebellious, but we have to stand in faith, praying constantly and in gratitude for things still to come.

So, I’m putting a little challenge out there to each and every single one of you reading this, regardless of your belief system because (everyone, regardless of whether or not you believe in God, Buddha, Allah or No Higher Power at all) you have the potential to bless someone with your words and speak life into their lives today. Be sincere, because, to quote another verse in Proverbs (16:24), from the New American Standard Translation, “Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.”

Leave a Reply

