A Few of my Favourite Things

Don’t ask me why, but Julie Andrews haunted my dreams last night.  Actually you can ask me why – I was in an extremely emotional mood yesterday, due to the joys of womanhood.  I went from happy to hopeless to sad to hapless to aggressive to lusty in zero to five seconds flat.  I haven’t had a bout like this since February, so I used what I had at hand to cope with the situation.  I popped some Clobazam and Zolpidem and within a half hour, I was in a happy place.  Well, for the most part – the hills being alive with the sound of music wasn’t exactly what I’d had in mind when I nodded off, but granted, it could have been worse.  It could have been Annie!

Things have been a bit hard the past few weeks, but I’m really trying to focus on the positive things in my life.  Like now, as I type this, I am eating a hot bowl of soup.  It is a meager meal to some, but to me, particularly on this cold, winter’s day, it is the perfect sustenance.  So many people are going hungry and are praying for what I often take for granted.

Needless to say, Sister Maria and her favourite things was replaying in my head when I awoke this morning and the only way I’m going to get rid of the brain itch is to sing (well not literally, because you’d all run a mile!) the song, in my own words:

Coffee, a blanket and a book to read
Music with lyrics that make my heart bleed
Candlelit bubble baths, hot and warming
These are a few of my favorite things

Watching the whales play and drinking cocktails
Cuddles and laughter and lingerie sales
A visitor announced as the door bell rings
These are a few of my favorite things

Walks on the beach with the waves a-lapping
Being appreciated with an audience clapping
A warm bed with solid old springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

May you all have a great weekend, in which you notice not only the huge things, but the subtle blessings too.

Leave a Reply

