Idiot, Intelligent, or Insane?

Today an interesting quote crossed my social media stratosphere.

The sign of intelligence is that you are constantly wondering.  Idiots are always dead sure about every damn thing they are doing in their life.” ~ Vasudev

Wondering who Vasudev is, I decided to use the power of Google and found out the following:

Jaggi Vasudev, commonly known as Sadhguru, is an Indian yogi, mystic, philanthropist and author of over 100 titles in 8 different languages.

I already have respect for the man.  To have published over one hundred titles, that is a commendable achievement to say the least.  I know how hard I am struggling to get my first manuscript finished and then after that, ready for submission to publishing houses for consideration.

My parents both encouraged me to have an inquiring mind.  My mother nurtured in me an incredible love of reading.  As I’ve moved through the different seasons of my life, my tastes have obviously evolved and I’ve grown mentally, but I still ask Why?

Until this quote crossed my path, I always admired people that knew exactly what they were doing, or where they were going.  It appeared to me that they had their shit together, that they were focussed.  It didn’t for a moment occur to me that their knowing may simply have been permanent stubbornness, or as I have now been enlightened, idiocy.  I’m not saying I am not obstinate at times.  Some people will tell you that I can be a real ass (and yes, that pun is intended) at times, but more often than not I doubt what I’m doing.  I sometimes flog a dead horse to the point where it resurrects itself and then I wonder if questioning my decision is going to result in a different outcome.  That though, isn’t intelligence; that is insanity – because by simple definition by one of the most intelligent men that has ever lived, Albert Einstein, “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

Now, you all know I’m a Mid-Thirty-Misfit.  What I’d like to know now is am I Insanely Intelligent to boot?  Don’t even think to call me an Idiot, because I can honestly say I am not damn sure of everything I’m doing.  Most times I am simply winging it.

5 thoughts on “Idiot, Intelligent, or Insane?

  1. Lucky Wreck March 2, 2015 / 4:20 pm

    I have seen this quote and wondered the same for myself. I’ve never really felt I knew exactly what I was doing, so does that just mean I’m super intelligent? I’m guessing, not. I have a dysfunctional habit of over-thinking things.

    I love how you brought up the Einstein quote and merged it with Vasudev to form one query. I think that is super intelligent!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit March 2, 2015 / 4:30 pm

      LW – Thank you for your visit to my blog, and for your comment. I am a voracious reader, so merging quotes is something I do quite often 🙂 Not sure if that makes me super intelligent though, but I appreciate the compliment! As for over-thinking things…show me an intelligent woman who doesn’t. It is an occupational hazard.

      • Lucky Wreck March 2, 2015 / 4:41 pm

        I’ve been reading quite a lot myself, but seem to have more of a tendency to compare quotes rather than merge them. I’ve come across so many quotes that seem to contradict one another, and then drive myself nuts over-thinking them. Maybe that is a form of merging them? In any case, one thing I do know is that I enjoyed this post, very much 🙂

      • Mid-Thirty Misfit March 3, 2015 / 12:43 pm

        Thank you LW! I am trying to get back into actively blogging again. I hope that you will follow my blog 🙂 Have a super day!

Leave a Reply

