Becoming More…

I am totally inspired to write – I attribute it entirely to the rain that has been falling since late yesterday afternoon.  There is just something soothing about the pitter-patter of the raindrops dancing on the roof that brings peace and perspective…I am busy drafting a Creative Writing piece about the rain, which I will post at a later stage.

I found this in a friend’s Facebook newsfeed, and it immediately struck a chord with me.

Andrew Lucas

I have always been such a person – one that feels everything deeply – ever since I was a wee lass.  As I’ve got older though, the intensity of the depth of how I feel has increased.  I am a great deal more emotional – sometimes angry, sometimes lonely, sometimes sad, sometimes eager, sometimes proud, sometimes excited, but for the most part, happy and content because I’ve come to realize that I’m where God wants me to be.  Sure, it isn’t always easy, but nothing ever worth it, ever is.

I’ve often thought feeling things so deeply is a curse, but looking at things from a renewed, more positive, mindset, I realize that it is actually a blessing.  When I am going through a difficult time, or seeing someone I really care about going through the same, my heart aches and tears generally flow (whether I’m in their company or in solitude).

My prayer for each one of you reading this entry today, is that regardless of what you’re feeling, know that you are not alone – many are going through the same kind of journey, but Someone has been through it already and He overcame everything because of His unconditional love for you.  So feel deeply and embrace everything that crosses your path, for all things work for the good of those who love Him and who are called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).  

Our pastor preached a while ago that everything we endure in our life, Jesus also went through during His time on earth.  Maybe this is a far stretch, but I like to think that if I’m feeling things so deeply, that I’m becoming more like Jesus, and that can never be a curse, only a blessing.

Leave a Reply

