Of Sparkly Shoe Boxes filled with Simple Trinkets…

I know that there is a post of a sparkly gold shoe-box on my blog somewhere, but do you think I can find it so that I can link the post? Oh no! But, I will not lose my temper, because it is going to ruin the whole feeling of this post if I do. So, if any of you happen to find the post in my archives, please feel free to leave me a comment, so that I can edit this post, to include the link.

A quick bit of history as to why the gold shoe-box is important. It was a box I filled with goodies for an orphaned young lady of 15, as part of the annual shoe-box project, which is held in our region. There is a national drive too, but I feel that charity begins at home, and if not at home, then as close to home as possible.

Anyhow, yesterday I received the mail that the project is on the go again and immediately I sent the mail requesting the name of a child. I am very happy and super-excited because I received the reply, and the child I have is a ten-year old girl, with the same first name as mine 😀 Feeling somewhat motivated by that, I mailed and told the organizer I will take two more names.

I spoke to a friend of mine who has worked with the orphanage quite closely in the past and she said something that struck me deep down. “Those children are satisfied with the bare minimum.” It got me thinking about this truth…

the-things-you-take-for-granted-someone-else-is-praying-f

So often we (and I included myself in this statement) are inclined to moan about things we want but don’t have. Things that, if one is really honest, would not make a huge difference to who we are. Sure I would love to own a Mercedes Benz, but do I need it? No, I don’t. I have a perfectly reliable car, which is more than most people do. Many people are praying for a car of their own. I look at the lady who cleans the gym. Her name is Meryl. For a long time I would see her leave the gym just before I finished my session. I got to talking to her one day and she said she catches the minibus taxi at the mall (which is about 10 minutes’ walk from the gym) to get home. I drive past the mall every night to go home, so, when I can, I tell Meryl to hop in and I drop her off. She is always so grateful – sometimes even more so when it’s raining or, in the case of winter, dark at that time already.

Okay, forget about a car for a moment, because it is an expensive article. Let’s scale that down a bit. I said to a colleague of mine not moments ago, “Hell, I’m hungry and all that I have to hold me out until lunch is a naartjie.” I wasn’t complaining, I was merely stating a fact, and he said, “Be glad you’re still in a position to get fruit and veggies into your diet. There are people living on less than a dollar a day. A naartjie is something they might never get to taste in their lifetime.”

So, for the rest of the day, I’ve decided to simply be grateful for what I have. The shoe-box project will keep me grounded because as I shop for my namesake for simple crayons and a colouring book I will remember how fortunate I was to have an abundance of those when I was her age.

May you all be blessed today, knowing that what you have, is actually more than enough because “all your needs are supplied in according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus” (Phillipians 4:19)

Leave a Reply

