Almost 33 and 33 lb Lighter

I’ve done it!  I’ve finally lost 15 Kg (or for those of you metric measurers, 33 lb).  

It has been a long journey, although honestly, not as hard as I expected it to be.  I think it is going to be harder to maintain motivation levels now that I know the battle is won.  

 Here are before, during and after photos

This photo was taken in August last year.  I hadn’t started gym yet, and at the time the photo was taken, I had no desire to exercise either.  I was actually quite comfortable in my little (well large), round body.  I was very happy (evident from the smile on my face) when this photo was taken – I was with my mom and Aunty Carol for a girls’ weekend in Cape Town.  On this specific day, a special friend, Jakes, joined us for a visit to BouldersBeach (it’s a sanctuary for African Penguins).  Now as I look at it, I am actually appalled that I let myself go to the extent I did. 

Image

This photo was taken about two weeks after I joined the gym.  A few friends and I took a hike to the local dam.  (FLTR:  Ilayna, Liza, Elizabeth and I.)  Everything is board-walked, but it is downhill all the way to the dam and a very steep uphill all the way back!  I was huffing and puffing my lungs out by the time we got back to the car.  

Image

In November last year I was invited to a Moulin Rouge evening at a gallery owned by a friend.  By then I hadn’t lost much, but my face does seem slightly less round in this photo 🙂

Image

As time progressed a number of people who also go to the gym, but whom I don’t know from Joe (or Josephine) Soap would approach me and tell me that they’ve noticed the change, even though I couldn’t really see a difference, I could feel it on my clothes.  Every second month, there would be an improvement on my fitness evaluation and I felt so incredibly proud.  I couldn’t wait to get home and share my stats on Facebook.

I had my most recent evaluation this past Wednesday – in some areas I showed an improvement, in others a regression, but all things considered (being away for a week and not able to gym, and being booked off sick for always three weeks with the damn flu), I did damn well. In two months time I turn 33, and my next evaluation will be round then too.  But as I am now, don’t I look damn good? 

Image

I’m feeling a great deal more confident and enjoying the fun of shopping for clothes that highlight the new, slimmer me.  My mental attitude has changed a great deal too – I feel a lot more positive about life and I’m seeing the beauty in the small things that are so often taken for granted, like this morning’s sunrise. 

Image

 

3 thoughts on “Almost 33 and 33 lb Lighter

  1. C December 10, 2013 / 12:40 pm

    Wow good job! you look fab now.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit December 10, 2013 / 2:09 pm

      Thanks C – can’t believe the person I’ve become. Happy, positive, content…simply awesome! Thanks for stopping by for the visit!

Leave a Reply

