Blessed by Rain

 

Image

(Picure from katrinleblondblog.com)

“You heavens above, rain down righteousness; let the clouds shower it down. Let the earth open wide, let salvation spring up, let righteousness grow with it; I, the LORD, have created it.”

Isaiah 45:8

On Tuesday night I was visiting with friends when out of nowhere lightning began to light up the sky and thunder roared.  Seconds later it was raining.  Hard!  I grew up on the Highveld so I love a good thunderstorm, but here in theCape, they are few and far between.  I still said to everyone that this storm signified the first winter rain, the proper change of the seasons.  While we have had a few cold days, winter hadn’t really set in.  Well, it has now.  Jack Frost has set up camp and while I’m not one for the cold, I love the wet weather.  It has been raining on and off since I left for work this morning.  Aptly “Let it Rain”, by Michael W Smith keeps making an appearance on my random playlist today too.  I am just feeling so good – the floodgates of Heaven are open and the rain is cleansing and renewing and God is raining His blessings down on me.  What a wonderful day it is! 

I want to be the woman in the photo above.  I want to dance in the rain, with my head and hands lifted to Heaven, celebrating God’s goodness – celebrating the change He’s made in my life, celebrating His abundant blessings that I so often take for granted.

 

Leave a Reply

