7 Bad Habits of Highly Effective People

I received this article in my inbox yesterday and thought that it is well worth discussing. 

7 Bad Habits of Highly Effective People

Lili Radloff has made some valid points, to which I would like to add, if I may.

 

1.    Driving recklessly: This past weekend a drunken driver took the lives of two innocent children in the town I live in, leaving the other driver in a coma and another child in hospital.  Not only is it reckless to drive under the influence, but it is simply stupid.  One of my colleagues updated her Facebook status last night saying that this accident has caused many people to think about a number of things, yet the one thing that seems to be lost on some people is buckling up their children, whether it is for a quick pop-round the corner, or for a long trip.  Elizabeth and I saw a little girl (she couldn’t have been older then three) hanging out of the front passenger side window, while the driver was waiting for the light to change.  What is someone had accidentally driven into the back of that car? 

Another form of driving that I find extremely reckless is people who fail to use their indicators.  Seriously, it doesn’t take any effort at all to flip it up or down to show what your intent is.  Yesterday on my way home, I was nearly taken out by a driver who simply swerved in front of me.  Had (s)he put her indicator on, I could have slacked off and not have had to drive on the shoulder of the road.

 2.    Always being connected: I love my Blackberry.  Really I do.  But I also know that it’s bad manners to text in company or talk on my phone in a restaurant.  Nothing irks me more than someone who phones and when I don’t answer, they leave me a snotty voicemail, “I don’t know why you have a phone.”  You know what Bozo, that phone is for MY convenience, not yours!

3.    Not appreciating food: When I read this heading I thought “who doesn’t appreciate food?” but Lili has a point.  In today’s rushed lifestyle, Moms are often too tired to make a nice meal, or sometimes it is simply too expensive to do so.  One thing I’ve learnt though is that any food is good when paired with great company.  So, grab your family and have a meal around the table, not the TV.

4.    Skimping on sex: Our body needs those feel-good hormones that are released during sex.  If more people were getting nookie, there would be a lot less negativity around.

5.    Not sleeping enough:  I got an email from a friend that said, “you life depends on your dreams, so go to sleep now.”  It is quite a true sentiment.  Sleep is important, even more so is uninterrupted sleep – so switch your phone off every now and then and get a good night’s rest.  You’ll be amazed at how good you feel…and you’ll probably be up for some seriously good nookie.  Your partner will be happy…

6.    Seeing your kids as a chore:  I don’t have children yet, but I can’t believe that there are some people who see their children as a chore.  Don’t they realize the gift they have been given?  There are so many couples that would like children, but that aren’t able to have…

7.    Turning into a recluse: Lili is right!  Nothing beats the human touch or the sound of real people laughing out loud.  So, as nice as it is to have 300 friends on Facebook, get out and spend time with the ones who are close by, because the chances are, some of those 300 friends haven’t visited your profile in months.

Leave a Reply

