Spread the Love

Well, the first day of the month of love has arrived…

In case you’re one of those people living under a rock, all you need to do is visit your local stores where you will find shelves full of overpriced merchandise, from tacky, artificial roses, teddy bears, coffee mugs with soppy messages, heart shaped chocolates. Clothing stores usually stock sexy red ‘n black lacy underwear for the gals, or boxers for the blokes – usually with some suggestive innuendo printed on them. Don’t get me wrong – I love to be loved (and I love for that love to be expressed spontaneously, any time of the year – not on a specific day that society dictates). What I hate is that everything that is special in life, from love itself, to the birth of Christ (for those who do believe in Him), to His death (which He did out of love for us) have all been turned into some money-making racket. It saddens me a great deal to see what the world has come to, and it breaks my heart that our lives are driven more by the money in our pockets than by the things that really matter and cost nothing, like love, family, friends, success, happiness, hope, joy and a number of others…

Many of my friends has labelled me a cynic when it comes to Valentine’s Day in particular “because you’re single… just wait ‘til you have someone in your life, then you will also get excited by hearts and roses…people are just so much more romantic round Valentine’s Day…” My voices in my head usually just mutter “blah, blah, blah” in response.

Yes, I am single. I don’t deny that it’s not always nice being out with a group of mates, 95% of whom are either married, engaged or seriously attached, but I am not going to settle for a second-rate man just to be able to have someone in my life, so I too can get excited by hearts and roses. The right man for me will come along sometime and he will be romantic – and not just around Valentine’s Day… because, my fellow-bloggers, that is what love is supposed to be.

I recall with some bittersweet fondness a Valentine’s Evening Liza and Elizabeth organized one year. It was the two of them, Rachel and I – we had cocktails, punch, chatted up a storm and laughed until our bellies ached. We shared love… Life has happened in the meantime and the dynamics of our friendships with each other have changed, but we still have the memories.

On the subject of Valentine’s Day memories, I can honestly say that I don’t remember a single Valentine’s Day when I was indeed attached that is worth blogging about – purely because the gift-giving or the romantic dinner was done more out of obligation and social dictation than out of love.

Now, to all of you reading this, I want you to do me a favour:

Attached guys – do something spontaneous for the special lady in your life every day this year – whether you make her a cup of tea before bed, or draw her a bath, or simply pop a gentle kiss on her forehead…actions speak a million times louder than words, or expensive flowers.

Unattached guys – walk up to a lady you know, be it a colleague, a friend or even a complete stranger and pay her a genuine compliment. Nothing lifts a girl’s mood like a simple gesture of kindness.

Attached gals – do something with your man that he loves doing (usually it’s an activity that you don’t enjoy, like fishing or camping) and be cheerful about it. If it’s something outdoorsy like the activities mentioned above, take a book or something to keep yourself occupied while he does his thing – but just be there with him. He’ll appreciate the time you’ve sacrificed.

Unattached girls – don’t become cynical about love with a really special someone. Believe it exists, with all your heart. But until it comes along – share the love you have in your heart with those around you. Some days all a person needs is a warm smile or a gentle hug to make life a little more bearable.

Spread the love people – not just now, but every day. Tomorrow could be too late.

 

4 thoughts on “Spread the Love

  1. Colleen February 1, 2012 / 9:57 pm

    I wish there were an awesome button for this post! Hear! Hear! Beautifully written and so true. Big love and hugs to you xx

  2. Liza February 2, 2012 / 12:00 pm

    Dis baie waar… Ek moet erken hierdie dae raak letterlik ‘n geldmaak storie. Ek koop of maak gewoonlik iets klein net vir die gedagte.

    Maar moet se.. Ek verwelkom ‘n dag soos Valentynsdag. Sekere mans(en vrouens) is nou maar net eenvoudig nie die romantiese, lieftalige tipe, of maak net nie altyd die tyd om “liefde” uit te leef, so hulle kan die dag dan gebruik om net weer daai ietsie spesiaals saam te doen.
    My poeksie is nie die lieftallige tipe en sal nie sommer ietsie “liefde” bedags doen, maar ek weet dat wanneer hy vir my ietsie doen hy dit so opreg bedoel dan dit eintlik my hart laat pyn. Soos toe hy een dag vir my se dat hy bitter graag die hartjie beertjie by die masjien vir my wou vang….. of soos die wintersaand wat hy op my bed le en vir my se hy maak net my plekkie warm…..
    Sulke goedjies van n nie-romantikus beteken vir my so so baie.
    Dalk omdat ek maar skrikkerig is vir die mans met die gladde bekke en jy nie altyd weet of hy iets bedoel.
    Maar ‘n dood gewone saam wees en memories bou beteken veel meer as enige valentys geskenk.

  3. Mid-Thirty Misfit February 2, 2012 / 7:35 pm

    @Liza – it’s true what you say, some people simply aren’t romantic, yet, like the love of your life will “keep your spot warm” – that’s the kind of gesture I’m talking about – love without all the hearts, roses and commercial crap. I don’t mind Valentine’s Day if it means loving someone just a little bit more, but I do hate it if it is the only time someone attempts to show their love to another…hope you get what I’m saying…

Leave a Reply

