Creative Writing: Mixed Emotions

Image

(Image by igzlz.deviantart.com)

Mixed Emotions

Your voice so rich and inviting

Your chocolate eyes so warm

Your smile genuine and open

Yet your reaction is cold…

 

My hope will not be cut off

Tells a wise king in the Proverbs

I have a future

Solomon declares

 

I extend an olive branch, a request to mend what’s left of what we have

But only lowly twigs remain

As your fire of rejection burns it to ashes

My heart aches in sad confusion

 

I hear your hollow voice behind me in the hallway

I turn to look into your reflection-less eyes

Your lips so tightly pursed hide your memorable smile

Who are you?  What have you become?

 

Momentary flames burn within me

As I speak your name from my lips

My tummy flutters when I see you

My skins yearns for your touch

 

I cling to my promised hope

Of a love eternal

I am never alone

Single footsteps show me where He carries me…

 

Wordlessly you open your arms

A tear escapes, staining your cheek

Your lips part in a primal roar

“I love you.   Please, don’t leave me!”

 

Only embers remain

As ice engulfs my heart

I feel empty and lost

Yet strangely at peace

 

My voice is crisp

My eyes wide-open

My smile sincere

My reaction unexpected, even to me…

 

“I am hurt, confused and almost hateful…

But I can’t stop loving you!”

 

A roaring fire burns my core

As I scream your name from my lips

My tummy flutters as you gently take my hand

My skin is alive by your touch.

2 thoughts on “Creative Writing: Mixed Emotions

  1. Christina January 7, 2012 / 11:00 am

    Fantastic! You’re a great writer. I look forward to reading much more.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit January 7, 2012 / 11:57 am

      Hello Christina, thank you very much for the visit, and the kind word – please feel free to browse through my Creative Writing posts, as well as the rest of my blog.

Leave a Reply

