Creative Writing: Fun

When I read the theme for the November Paint the World with Words Challenge, the Beach Boys tune “Fun, Fun, Fun” popped into my head immediately and now I have a brain itch…again. Maybe, once I’ve posted this entry, that itch will be scratched.

I know Shongi is hoping for poetry, but I opted for something else, inspired by the lyrics that are milling round in my head.

Well she got her daddys car
And she cruised through the hamburger stand now

When my biological father and Mom were still together and we were still living in Johannesburg, it was the rage to go to the drive-in and roadhouses. Many a Friday night, the three of us would pile into the car and do just that. I remember a funny incident where we stopped at a roadhouse and Father ordered a hamburger. When the hamburger arrived he was most disgusted because said hamburger was a patty simply slapped between two slices of semi-cremated toast.

He promptly when inside and said to the owner, “Would you eat this?!” To which the shop owner replied, “Yes!”, grabbed it out of Father’s hand and promptly gobbled it up. Father stood there somewhat speechless and very red-faced. Even though I have mainly bad memories of Father, these drive-in and roadhouse outings were always fun.

Seems she forgot all about the library
Like she told her old man now

My friend N, boarded with us in our Matric year and we would sometimes play hookie after school, telling Mom that we had an assignment which we needed to research after school (it’s not like we even knew about the Internet then), when in actual fact, we had a date with the Tidal Pool at the Point. You see, I had a serious crush on one of the guys in my register class – a strapping lad named JCM, who was a god without his shirt on. Like his two elder brothers, he was a superb swimmer and the Tidal Pool was where one would find him every day after school if the sun was remotely shining. N and I would stop for ice-cream on the way and spend the afternoon baking in the sun, perving over JCM. I remember those days – ice-cream, crashing waves and gorgeous bods. Good old-fashioned-innocent-teenage fun.

And with the radio blasting
Goes cruising just as fast as she can now

And she’ll have fun fun fun
til her daddy takes the t-bird away
(fun fun fun til her daddy takes the t-bird away)

On the subject of “Daddy’s Car”, this portion of the song rings very true with me. I absolutely adore driving fast, even more so, when it’s in “Daddy’s Car” often to the detriment of my budget at some stage, but there is nothing more fun than listening to- and singing along with a really good song at a decibel level Mom is unable to appreciate, with the window open, just enjoying the music and the sunshine. Again, simple, innocent, feel-good fun.

Well the girls can’t stand her
cause she walks, looks and drives like an ace now
(you walk like an ace now you walk like an ace)
She makes the indy 500 look like a roman chariot race now
(you look like an ace now you look like an ace)
A lotta guys try to catch her
But she leads them on a wild goose chase now
(you drive like an ace now you drive like an ace)

And she’ll have fun fun fun
til her daddy takes the t-bird away
(fun fun fun til her daddy takes the t-bird away)

I have, up until very recently thought of myself as an Ugly Duckling, but with the help of good friends and a really cool orthodontist, I am seriously looking good – that sounds so self absorbed, doesn’t it?! – I am pretty much summed up in this verse above. I have mentioned before too, that I’m an insatiable flirt, so leading ’em on a wild goose chase is also so much fun.
Well you knew all along
That your dad was gettin wise to you now
(you shouldnt have lied now you shouldnt have lied)
And since he took your set of keys
You’ve been thinking that your fun is all through now
(you shouldnt have lied now you shouldnt have lied)

But you can come along with me
cause we gotta a lot of things to do now
(you shouldnt have lied now you shouldnt have lied)

And we’ll have fun fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away
(fun fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)
And we’ll have fun fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away
(fun fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)
(fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)
(fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)
(fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)
(fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)
(fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)
(fun fun now that daddy took the t-bird away)

Again, true…I have been in some situations, where a too much red wine has resulted in someone taking my keys away, but that’s when the real fun starts…and I’ll keep having fun, fun, fun – even if Daddy takes my Silver Bullet away 🙂

Leave a Reply

