Day Seven: Four Books

Four Books…
 
I have read many books in my life, some more memorable than others, but to limit this post to only four.  Tough one!
 
One book that I still want to read is called The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by British novelist, Mark Haddon.  Many people who I know that have read it say that it is well worth the read.  Seeing that I haven’t read it yet, I am going to rule that it doesn’t qualifty for this challenge 🙂
 
The tutor of my novel-writing course, author Alex Smith, recommended that I read some more home-grown fiction.  Following her advice, I found a book called Karma Suture (not to be confused with Kama Sutra), by a writer named Rosamund Kendal.
 
It deals with the story of a trainee doctor in Cape Town and the tribulations she faces in her profession.  It is an honest, well-written, often hilariously-funny account of life in the South African medical profession and it shows that doctors, too, are human.  She  recently published her second novel The Angina Monologues which I am currently reading.  From what I’ve already read, it promises to be an equally good, light-hearted, yet thought-provoking-at-the-same-time novel.
 
A book that I will always treasure from my childhood is Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame.  I received the book as a prize at school in 1986 or 1987 for being the most improved reader.  I still have it on my bookshelf.
 
Mathilda by Roald Dahl also has to be one of my all-time favourite books.  I read it as a young girl and then again in my twenties.  I laughed even louder the second time around.  As a child I enjoyed almost all of his books.  I remember wanting a chocolate factory of my own, just like Charlie.
 
Okay, so this isn’t a single book to make up number four, but four books (in one series) – The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer.  As clichéd as it probably sounds, it’s true…I was engrossed in the books.  The love Edward Cullen has for Bella is just the kind of love I want in my life – pure, true and never-ending.
 
The next two entries are going to be even more difficult to write – three films and two songs…I best start drafting a post in my head.
 
One thought on “Day Seven: Four Books

  1. Cindy August 19, 2011 / 9:00 am

    You will enjoy Mark Haddon’s book, I loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

