Day Six: Five Foods

I know I haven’t written for quite some time, but honestly, my inspiration has been at an all-time low.  I’m slowly trying to wean myself of the meds and while some days are easy, I still realize that the road to recovery is still a very long one.

Yesterday I received a comment on my blog from a reader who is concerned that I have been out of BlogLand for quite some time, and it would appear that this concern was the little push I needed to get back into the blogging-saddle again, so Chantal, thank you!

Continuing with the 10-day-about-me-challenge, here is my entry for:

Day Six:  Five Foods

In no particular order of preference…

Peanut Butter

In my humble opinion, Peanut Butter should be one of the five major food groups.  I love it in any shape, size or form.  Just this past weekend I baked a batch of Fudge-filled Peanut Butter muffins. Elizabeththoroughly enjoyed them.  Then, as the weather was a tad warmer, I dipped into my stash of Woolies Peanut Butter Swirl ice-cream and made us milkshakes.  I also indulged in the most divine chicken satay when I visitedSingaporein 2004.  Often, especially when there is fresh bread in the house, I will make myself a peanut butter and jam sandwich, it’s definitely an inexpensive comfort food.

My Mom’s Cottage Pie

Apparently my Mom doesn’t have a recipe for her Cottage Pie, but no matter how many times she makes it, it always tastes the same.  I think it is because it is made with motherly love.  Needless to say, I always end up having a second helping.  Whenever I’ve been away from home for a time, it is what gets served up when I return.

Homemade Jam on Hot Homemade Bread

Again, an inexpensive comfort food…  It’s even better when the homemade jam is one of Dad’s homemade bottles (especially his grape or fig jam) and the hot homemade bread is baked byElizabeth’s mum.

Steak

Medium Rare, served with a baked potato (that’s served with butter and sour cream) and good ol’ fashioned onion rings.  If the earth ends and all that’s left is steak and lobster, I’ll definitely be in the steak line.  Whenever I’m inCape Townwith Mom she will treat me to a steak at Squires.  Also ate one of the best steaks in my life in Cape Town at a place called Hussar Grill in Rondebosch.  Have always wanted to go back, but never got round to it.  Who knows, maybe next time?

Dad’s Spaghetti Bolognaise

I’ve eaten Bolognaise in many restaurants, and even on my cruise earlier this year (the crew being Italian) and nothing comes near to my Dad’s Spaghetti Bolognaise.  It transports me to a happy place with every bite.

All this talk of food has made me very hungry – I’m off to eat the KFC burger I brought to work for lunch…I’ll probably be hungry again by actual lunch time…

 ‘Til later…

3 thoughts on “Day Six: Five Foods

  1. digidolldiaries August 17, 2011 / 11:33 am

    I think I need the recipe for your Fudge-filled Peanut Butter muffins!

  2. Chantal August 17, 2011 / 12:41 pm

    hah hah awesome, glad I could help 😛

    Happy you are actually okay and just not feeling the blogging thing.

  3. Cindy August 18, 2011 / 8:28 am

    Yep, they are all jolly fine foods 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

