You Saw a WHAT?

I know I haven’t blogged in ages, and I apologise – work is keeping me extremely busy, but this is something I had to share.

 On my almost-empty stomach, this is what greeted me when I logged onto the internet this morning. 

“By SAPA, 2011/05/26

Capescientists find jumping cockroach

A Cape cockroach, that can jump, has been named as one of the world’s new top ten species, Beeld reported on Thursday.

The “leaproach”, which can grow up to one centimetre in length, was discovered in the Table MountainNational Park by scientists from the Universityof Cape Town.

“Its jump is powerful… it has very strong back legs,” said scientist Mike Picker of the zoology department.

It has been named Saltoblattella montistabularis. The “Montis Tabularis” refers to Table Mountain.”

I am not a creepy crawly person, I never have been, but I can’t help but wonder if this is some freak of nature – a flea cross cockroach perhaps?  With all the strange things happening in the world, nothing would surprise me.

 Now, I must get back to work, but first I’m going to get a can of bug killer out of the kitchen cupboard…just in case…

One thought on “You Saw a WHAT?

  1. Cindy May 26, 2011 / 10:31 am

    Eeeeek! Ek gril my dood 😦

Leave a Reply

