Interesting Purchases on a Budget

Seeing as I only start work on the 11th, money is still a bit tight.  Dad puts money in my account to cover my debit orders and that is pretty much it.  I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t live in their house – because I would most likely die of starvation, or the horror of not being able to shower every day.  Small things that many people don’t have, so I’m blessed.

Anyhow, yesterday the great clean up continued and I found R67 in one of my handbags that I haven’t used in a while.  It is such a cool feeling 🙂  and I was also lucky enough to make some commission on my Sh’zen sales last month which also came in handy.

Elizabeth was off on Wednesday, so we spent the day walking into every little Chinese shop in town.  The heart of our beautiful town has died since the erection of the shopping mall, so I can’t tell you when last I walked the length of the main road – never mind in heels!  We didn’t buy anything for ourselves, but seeing as her youngest sister is getting married and her bachelorette is coming up, we looked for stuff we could use there.  We found a sassy G-string, and paper plates and streamers in the right colours.

Having to fill my prescription we stopped in at Clicks where I found the ideal thing for the Honeymoon Survival Kit…

They are flavoured and come in three different types…but, what made them a bargain is that they were being as a banded pack with this interesting little sex toy:

I am of course extremely curious to find out if it works, but it was the last one.

This little duo of goodies came in at less that R70.

Then yesterday, while we were sitting at home waiting for something interesting to happen, we heard a car going by with a loud speaker mounted to its roof, telling the entire neighbourhood that one of the local churches would be hosting their annual feté, so we went to that.  Now, I am a hoarder (don’t tell Dad that I have confessed because he will have a field day), so I can’t resist bric-a-brac tables, nor the tombola.  I spent R50 at the tombola yesterday and got 10 tickets.  Look at the things I brought home.

Now I obviously don’t have a need for soft toys, so I will gift one of them to Mary and Martin and the other to Carmen to use in the studio she uses to take photos of babies.

I just love the bag!  They were actually selling inside for R50, so I reckon I was lucky to have won mine.

I am very chuffed with the balsa wood elephants, as well as the candles.  I gave Mom the glasses and the tray and they will be used in the camper.

What is even better is that I still had cash left over to put petrol in my car 🙂

Right, now I have to get out of my PJ’s and do something constructive.

‘Til later 🙂

7 thoughts on “Interesting Purchases on a Budget

  1. Cindy April 2, 2011 / 10:32 am

    I’m also a hoarder and have cupboards full of stuff I’ll never use.

  2. viewfromtheside April 3, 2011 / 9:21 am

    what a great haul. good that you are finding ‘homes’ for some of it

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit April 4, 2011 / 9:16 am

      Hey there, I would be honoured if you mentioned my blog. Thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

