Friday Fun

For some reason I have been in the mood for baking.  The other day it was biscuits and this morning it is a cake.  It is the first time I have used a bundt cake ring, as well as an icing bag, but I don’t think I did too badly for a first attempt 🙂

Dad and I are watching the cricket – I think it is going to be an interesting game, and of course, I am rooting for the Proteas.

Carmen is celebrating her crown birthday on the 30th and in celebration of the milestone, she is hosting a trailer trash party tomorrow afternoon.  She has invited both Elizabeth and I.  I have a pretty good idea of what I am going to wear.  I will take a few pics to post.  I am looking forward to seeing how inventive the guests are with the dress code.  I love a theme party!

Then, Side View’s weekend theme “Star”, here is my contribution – a little ditty:

You’re My Stars

Consult the Stars

Oh Psychic One

Tell me of Wars

Not yet Begun

Consult the Stars

Navigator of the Seas

So that I may set sail

In the gentle breeze

Consult the Stars

My friends

So you can see them shine

Like they belong to God,

I’m honoured to say “you’re mine”.

Right, now I’m off to go and slice that cake of mine and have a cuppa tea…

‘Til later 🙂

11 thoughts on “Friday Fun

  1. Cindy March 25, 2011 / 2:34 pm

    Your cake is lovely!
    Look forward to seeing the party photos.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit March 25, 2011 / 2:50 pm

      It tastes fabulous Cindy, even if I say so myself!
      I am also looking forward to the party – am sure there are going to be quite a few outrageous outfits.

  2. viewfromtheside March 25, 2011 / 2:56 pm

    are you going as trailer trash star?

    fun post this one 😉

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit March 25, 2011 / 6:10 pm

      Sidey, I am still toying with the idea of what exactly to wear, but either way it will be redneck common.
      Thanks – I haven’t done one of your challenges in yonks!

  3. granny1947 March 25, 2011 / 3:52 pm

    The cake looks good enough to eat!!!

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide March 25, 2011 / 8:32 pm

    I love how you iced it. It’s like a big flower. (Which may invoke a big DUH if that’s what you were going for but still.)

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit March 26, 2011 / 9:38 am

      Thanks Rufus! I was very happy with the way it came out. Next on my baking list is a syrupy nut cake 🙂

  5. adeeyoyo March 26, 2011 / 9:49 am

    Hope the cake tastes good, it looks too good to eat! Love the poem.

  6. cupcakes March 28, 2011 / 10:32 pm

    I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else!

Leave a Reply

