Refreshment for the Soul…

Mom and Dad left in the camper yesterday to the Bontebok National Park situated just outside of Swellendam.

Given the fact that I had some time to myself, I trotted off to Woolies and stocked up on my three favourite things chocolate, cheese and cookery magazines.  I bought full cream chocolate milk, chocolate mousse cupcakes, chocolate peppermint cupcakes, a cheese platter, Taste, Food and Home Entertaining and the Ideas magazine.  Ironically I didn’t get to indulge in any of them because by the time I left town, I was in the mood to have a home-cooked meal and watch DVD’s.

I stopped at the local DVD shop and rented The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (I love Nicholas Cage and magic, so this was like killing two birds with one stone), Eclipse (Rachel nearly had a heart attack when she heard that I still hadn’t seen it) and Eat, Pray, Love. Once at home, I popped all the indulgences in the fridge and heated leftover leg of lamb, rice, concertina potatoes, roast Mediterranean veges and a stuffed gem squash for a late-lunch-early-dinner which I ate off a tray, followed by the tricolour surprise dessert I made for Mom and she didn’t want.  Even if I had wanted to eat some of my Woolies goodies, I was just too full…

While having a tri-movie marathon seemed a fabulous idea at the time, it left me with a seriously sore head 😦  I switched off the light just after ten and woke up after eight thirty this morning, my head still pounding.  I would not have minded if I had had wine, but I hadn’t.  (I have made a mental note to drink wine in future…)

I went into town again this morning to take stuff through to Aunty Carol and Uncle Barry who will be making the trip to Bontebok National Park later today to join my parents.  Not being in too much of a hurry to come home, I mosied around a local clothing store and bought myself a funky floral top and a sleeveless short cabled cardigan for Elizabeth (I hope she will like it – if she doesn’t then I will keep it for myself).  Then I popped into Woolies again, bought myself a chicken wrap and a salad and ate it down at the local beach.  The weather is fabulous, despite a few dark clouds looming…

Isn’t this just the ideal setting for a solitary lunch, to refresh the soul?

Well, I’m back home now, feeling heartbroken for Elizabeth who has just let me know that a close friend of hers, Greg has died from a heart attack 😦

We have plans to go out for dinner tonight and while I’ve tried to convince her it might be better to stay in, she is adamant that she wants to go.  I have a feeling I may be having breakfast on the beach tomorrow morning too.

4 thoughts on “Refreshment for the Soul…

  1. granny1947 February 25, 2011 / 3:21 pm

    Stunning beach love.
    I have the eat pray movie on my laptop…think I must watch it this weekend.

  2. Cindy February 25, 2011 / 4:27 pm

    Your evening sounds indulgent, sorry about the headache.
    Sorry also for Elizabeth’s loss, maybe a good night out is what she needs.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit March 1, 2011 / 4:28 pm

      I am dying for chocolate Cin, if I didn’t know better, I would think I’m morphing into a chocoholic.

Leave a Reply

