Looking In…

…and seeing that everyone seems well, even if they aren’t all feeling the Christmas feeling.  I haven’t got the feeling either, in fact I wish the whole so-called Festive Season was over.  Dad gave me the task of going to get a watch for Mom from him that she had seen in a catalogue.  Well, let me tell you, I am NOT going back to the mall until all the holiday makers have gone home because there is no parking anywhere, at all!  It took me 35 minutes to get off the highway offramp to the mall and a further 20 minutes to find a parking space.  By the time I reached the jewellery store, I was hot and bothered.  To add insult to injury, the store no longer had the watch in stock!  I managed to maintain my rage and phoned Dad who politely told me to “choose something else, something she’d like, but something that I would have chosen…”  Okay, so I now had the brief in hand, but not enough dosh.  Grrrr….  I eventually opted for another watch, elegantly understated.  Here’s hoping she likes it.

Given the fact that I’m not working, I opted to make gifts this year.  Elizabeth’s elder sister, Esmeralda, gave me a recipe for a Spanish Hot Chocolate Mixture from Annette Human’s recipe book Lekker vir Later, which I made and bottled.  All that I still have to do is type out the directions for use and voilà, the gifts will be ready.

For those of you who would like to make some for yourselves, it is easy to make (and quite tasty too):

100g Castor Sugar

100g Coffee Creamer Powder

50g Cocoa

30g Custard Powder

15 ml Instant Coffee Powder

15 ml Cinammon (I only put in 5 ml, otherwise the cinammon is a little over powering)

Sift all the ingredients together (I sifted it three times to make sure everything is mixed through well) and store in an airtight container.  When you want to make yourself an indulgent cuppa, just add three heaped teaspoons to a mug and mix with a little boiling water to make a paste.  Fill with boiling water or hot milk and enjoy!

Dad was due to have been back at work 12 days ago already, but he is STILL waiting for his Nigerian Visa.  If he doesn’t get it before the end of this week, he will not be home in time for the cruise, so one of two things will happen – we will have to change the departure date (which will have to be sometime in March because of his rota) or we will have to go on our own.  A spanner will be thrown into the works if I in the meantime find employment, because not many companies will employ someone who is going to be wanting a week’s leave just after starting work.  Ah well, I will just have to cross the bridge when I get to it, won’t I?

On other fronts:

I am three quarters of the way through the fourth module of my novel-writing course, and enjoying it tremendously.  I am finding the length of the text installments quite challenging, but with each word I type, I do a little happy dance.

I am trying to work on a tan, but the weather hasn’t been co-operating.  I am patiently waiting for the sun to come out, so that I can laze about on one of the loungers in the back yard and soak up some colour.

I am in the mood to bake something, the question is what?

Anyhow, that’s me for the moment…I’ll pop in again sometime and do some catching up.

5 thoughts on “Looking In…

  1. Cindy December 20, 2010 / 2:25 pm

    Why not try Sonia Cabano’s chocolate cake, it’s easy and delicious!
    Careful with the tanning, take it slow.
    Crossing my fingers ref your dad’s VISA.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit December 20, 2010 / 8:42 pm

      Cin, you will have to share the recipe 😉
      I will definitely take the tanning slow – your red, sore knees have taught me something
      Dad’s visa is FINALLY ready, but now there is a hold up as to when he must join the rig – fun and games on this funny farm…

  2. viewfromtheside December 20, 2010 / 3:16 pm

    Sounds like a good idea for a present.

    Maybe next year we’ll all make each other presents in our family, I always forget to suggest it

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit December 20, 2010 / 8:43 pm

      Sidey, it is so easy to make, and inexpensive too.
      Making pressies is a great idea – because one can really see the thought, and feel the love that went into it.

Leave a Reply

