Proust Questionaire

As mentioned in my post on Saturday night, my writing tutor recommended that I complete the Vanity Fair Proust Questionnaire as one of my characters, Belinda, as she needs some development.  My responses are the second ones:

What is your idea of perfect happiness?

B:  Being loved, but until then I shall continue to fantasize about being the heroine from my favourite author’s books.

MTM:  Being surrounded by the people I love and being healthy enough to be able to enjoy the time I have with them.

What is your greatest fear?

B:  My parents finding out what he did to me…

MTM:  Drowning

Which historical figure do you most identify with?

B:  Adolf Hitler

MTM:  Florence Nightingale

Which living person do you most admire?

B:  Jenna Elfman – I can identify with her quirkiness.

MTM:  As clichéd as it may sound, my mom and dad – without them and their guidance, I wouldn’t be the person I am today.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

B:  Vulnerability – I am not weak.  I refuse to be.

MTM:  Procrastination – I often leave things until the last minute…

What is the trait you most deplore in others?

B:  Tardiness

MTM:  Duplicity

What is your greatest extravagance?
 

B:  Criminal novels, particularly those by Jeffrey Deaver.

MTM:  Shoes, handbags and Blackjack…

What is your favorite journey?

 B:  Anywhere where Jensen isn’t going to be

MTM:  A journey from a weekend away back home – going away is great, but coming home is always better.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

B:  Honour – there isn’t even honour amongst thieves, why would there be amongst “normal” people?

MTM:  Strawberries (there is a variety called “Virtue”)

On what occasion do you lie?

B:  When it is to my advantage

MTM:  When I have a really bad hangover – I will rather walk around in agony than admit that I buckled under alcoholic pressure.

What do you dislike most about your appearance?

B:  My wingnut ears, my frizzy strawberry blond hair and my eyebrows

MTM:  I used to hate my teeth, until I had them straightened.  What I dislike is the scar under my nose, it is the reminder of a diving accident, which could have left me paralysed or worse, dead.

Which living person do you most despise?

B:  My twin brother, Jensen

MTM:  Despise is a really harsh term…I seriously dislike my ex-boyfriend and one of the people I went cruising with last year.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

B:  I know things, things that can destroy you…

MTM:  You won’t believe it, but…

What is your greatest regret?

B:  Believing my parents wouldn’t believe me

MTM:  Only pursuing my love of writing now, at the age of 31…

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

B:  Jackson, my hamster

MTM:  My family and friends

Which talent would you most like to have?

B:  To be invisible

MTM:  To be able to paint or draw

What is your current state of mind?

B:  Resentful

MTM:  Depressed

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?

B:  I’d ship Jensen off to a remote planet.

MTM:  I would have had my maternal grandparents live forever.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

B:  Always getting my own way

MTM:  Making my parents proud

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?

B:  A park bench

MTM:  I don’t believe in reincarnation, but for the sake of answering this question – a bird, probably one of prey.

If you could choose what to come back as, what would it be?

B:  Jensen – while I resent my brother, he gets all the attention I long for.

MTM:  An award winning novelist

What is your most treasured possession?

B:  My Jeffrey Deaver novels

MTM:  My time

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

B:  Living in Jensen’s shadow

MTM:  Being so bogged down by my illness, that I cannot help others

Where would you like to live?

B:  Venezuela or Brazil

MTM:  Singapore or Cape Town

What is your favorite occupation?

B:  I’m sixteen, I don’t have an occupation

MTM:  I’ve only had two jobs, but if I could make a living from writing, it would not only be an occupation, it would be my life.

What is your most marked characteristic?

B:  People fear what I may know about them

MTM:  My kindness and willingness to help others

What is the quality you most like in a man?

B:  Honesty

MTM:  Sense of humour and kindness

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

B:  Sincerity

MTM:  Wit and mystique

What do you most value in your friends?

B:  Honesty

MTM:  Honesty, loyalty, love, acceptance, wit and our shared love of wine

Who are your favorite writers?

B:  Jeffrey Deaver

MTM:  Jeffrey Deaver, James Patterson, Michael Connelly, Terry Brooks, Terry Pratchett, Jodi Picoult, Sue Townsend, John van der Ruit, Lynda la Plante, Patricia Cornwell…the list can go on and on

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?

B:  Amelia Sachs, Lincoln Rhyme’s partner and girlfriend

MTM:  Alex Cross

Who are your heroes in real life?

B:  Our next door neighbour, Mr Tranjekov – he survived a blizzard in Russia during the Second World War

MTM:  Again, my parents…

What are your favorite names?

B:  Amelia, Jackson, Shereen, Walter

MTM:  David, Jessica, Jonathan, Brianna, Cassidy, Tamara, Edward

What is it that you most dislike?

B:  Jensen’s ability to literally get away with murder

MTM:  Duplicity and abuse of children, the elderly and animals

How would you like to die?

B:  With the satisfaction of knowing that he got his just desserts

MTM:  Quietly

What is your motto?

B:  If you want loyalty, buy a dog!

MTM:  Be kinder than necessary to others, for everyone is fighting some kind of battle.

2 thoughts on “Proust Questionaire

  1. Cindy December 6, 2010 / 11:38 am

    Egad, that Jensen must be a nasty piece of work …

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit December 6, 2010 / 11:50 am

      Oh Cin, he is – the parents refer to him as their handsome-little-Einstein and Belinda refers to him as pretty-boy-man.

Leave a Reply

