Mixed Bag

I took a bit of time out with my folks and trotted off to Port Elizabeth with them for a few days.  We were fortunate enough to get a complimentary stay at the Garden Court at King’s Beach.  The weather was gorgeous, and we only had one windy day.

After a rather boring drive home, I had news in my inbox from my tutor..and it was GOOD news.  I scored a 70% average on my third assignment (70% for the first part and a whopping 90% for the second).  I was so happy – happier than I have been in quite a while.  She sent me a quiz for my major character to complete (because I need to develop her more), so in true Sunday fashion, I will do it tomorrow, just as Cindy does – as myself and as my character.  I hope it will make for some interesting reading 🙂

The farm contacted me, asking if I would be willing to train the person that is temporarily sitting in my old chair (they can’t find a replacement…), to which I agreed.  I agreed to four hours last Saturday and today – which went off without a hitch.  My feathers got ruffled when I got a call just after five PM today asking me to come in immediately, for something which literally took two minutes to sort out, but which they couldn’t understand on the phone.  I booked an hour of my time though.

My parents, along with Aunty Carol and Uncle Barry are going on a cruise next month on the luxurious MSC Sinfonia.  Mom has said if I can get half the fare together (R2925), then she will come to the party with the remainder.  After all my accounts have been paid, I have almost half of the amount, so I need to get creative and entrepreneurial to get the other half together, but I’m sure I’ll make it.  I have been on a cruise before, last March, but it turned out to be a bit of a disaster, so this time I am going to pay a little extra and have a cabin to myself and spend time having a holiday that I want.  Mom hasn’t told Dad about her plan, but he will agree…he always does when it comes to seeing me happy.  I know too that they won’t expect me to spend my entire cruise in their company – since my diagnosis, they have been more accommodating about me doing what I want, without too much hassle.  I don’t think they realize just what it means to me.

Anyhow, I am going to watch some mindless TV programme, while I devour half a Greek Chocolate Slice and half a Custard Slice – I need a bit of sugary indulgence…

6 thoughts on “Mixed Bag

  1. Cindy December 5, 2010 / 6:26 am

    You’re sounding a lot better, which is a great relief to me.
    I remember your last cruise … 😉

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit December 5, 2010 / 8:13 pm

      Hi Cin, I am not sure if I am indeed getting better because I feel quite “emotionless” but I am sleeping a bit better, which is helping…

  2. viewfromtheside December 5, 2010 / 7:02 am

    Keep on with the improvement. Maybe you should have a break away on your own while they go cruising?

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit December 5, 2010 / 8:16 pm

      Hi Sidey, the thought did cross my mind, but to cruise again – and be able to do my own thing whilst on board will be so great. When dad mentioned getting three other people he said, “remember you are only going to be sharing a cabin – you are not going to live in one another’s pockets. Each person does their own thing…”Of course I would do some stuff with them, but I will be able to do stuff of my own too. Going away on my own is going to be a bit too expensive at the moment – maybe a weekend away on my own after I’ve been employed for a while again.

  3. granny1947 December 5, 2010 / 12:59 pm

    Good Morning My Friend…I have missed a few of your posts…will have to subscribe again….so sorry to hear your news. I am sure there is something better waiting for you out there.
    I am driving up to PE in the new year…unless I can afford a cheap flight…if there ARE any cheap flights…would love to stop and have a cup of coffee with you.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit December 5, 2010 / 8:19 pm

      Hi Granny, I have been quite quiet as far as posting blogs is concerned – even more so at visiting. Please do give me a call when you are down this end – I would love to see you. xx

Leave a Reply

