Goodbye Steph…

…I received word from Elizabeth that our close friend, Lisa’s mum, Stephanie, passed away at 04:20 this morning after battling various illnesses.  Even more tragic is that today would have been her sixtieth birthday, if Rachel is correct.

I remember chatting to Elizabeth’s mum about Steph, not having met her yet.  Elizabeth’s mum summed her up as flamboyant.  When I eventually did have the honour of meeting Steph, she was flamboyant…and caring…and funny…and loving…and gracious…and inspiring…and the list goes on.

People often say when one no longer walks a road with someone to “remember the good times” – and I do.  I have searched the deepest recesses of my mind for a tainted memory of some sort and nothing comes up.  I distinctly remember the last time we had a get-together at Lisa’s flat (behind her parents’ house).  The lights of the main house were off, so I just popped into the flat – moments later Lisa’s phone rang.  Steph was on the line wanting to know why I had not popped in to say hello.

I went in to say hello and we ended up chatting for almost an hour!  She was always positive about everything, despite her troubling health.  I remember telling her how much the farm takes out of me and that I know it is not something I see myself doing long-term and she would encourage me to do what would make me happy; to never stop dreaming.

She also had a strange, yet fond fascination with my hair.  Whenever she saw me she would compliment me on it, or run her fingers through it.  She was also always interested in potential romances; she would tease Rachel often about all her “boyfriends”.

My heart is aching terribly today – not only for Steph’s departure; for Lisa and her father and Steph’s mum left behind, but because it brought me to a terrible realization that Steph was younger than both my parents.  It made me realize just how fortunate I am to still have them with me.  Seems as I get older, Death makes me a little more aware of my mortality.

Steph – You were loved by many, and you will be sorely missed.  Rest now, in the arms of the angels.

7 thoughts on “Goodbye Steph…

  1. cindy August 4, 2010 / 12:24 pm

    Sorry for your loss MTM, R.I.P. Steph.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit August 4, 2010 / 1:59 pm

      Thank You Cin – I can’t begin to think how Lisa, her dad and her gran must be feeling.

  2. Adeeyoyo August 4, 2010 / 1:43 pm

    That is so true about becoming more aware of one’s mortality. It is lovely that you have wonderful memories to keep in your heart. I am so sorry for your loss.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit August 4, 2010 / 2:18 pm

      Thank you Adee – I think it is because I want to achieve so much in my life, and I realize that my flame can be snuffed without a moment’s notice.

  3. granny1947 August 4, 2010 / 3:01 pm

    I am so sorry love…positive vibes coming your way!

Leave a Reply

