A Slow Come-Back

A text message I received from Jake (who is now away and who I am really missing) some time ago when I heard he was going overseas for nearly a month merely read, “Absence…”

Now the saying does say, “…makes the heart grow fonder.” And damn, is it true?!  I don’t want to go into too much detail on my blog as I myself am not sure where, if anywhere, he and I are heading.  Things have moved very quickly – and part of me thinks it is because he is in love with the picture of the person in his head (I know I am).  He nearly didn’t go on this business trip because he rather wanted to fly down here to meet me.  I told him that he had to go – because if he didn’t he would always wonder and if things worked out between us for a while and then went south, I didn’t want to feel guilty. 

He left last Wednesday, with the promise of keeping in touch as time allowed.  He left his phone with the house-sitter so that she doesn’t have to use her airtime to contact him, but did take his laptop.  I haven’t heard anything from him yet, and it is driving part of me mad, yet the other part of me is at peace.  I know he is a man of his word, so I will hear from him.  I just need to be patient.

In two short weeks, he has made me feel so special, appreciated and cared for.  My entire world has been turned on its head.  Anyhow, until there is more to tell, onto other things…

Rachel is looking fabulous, having shed quite a bit of pounds and so I too have climbed on the bandwagon.  Yes, believe it or not, I am on a healthy eating plan.  Not a D I E T – that is a swear word!  Although, I am a bit cranky today – my neck is extremely sore – and having only had time to catch up on Only Cin’s blog, seeing all yummy food pics, I am definitely on D I E T today.  The object of the exercise is to see if I can shed 8 Kg’s by the fourteenth of this month.  I think with determination I will – willpower has not been a problem so far…I was able to pass up Mom’s heavenly honey ‘n mustard chicken casserole with all the trimmings last night and today I actually said “no thank-you” to a jam ‘ n cream scone AND Romany Creams. 

I was on two weeks unpaid leave – 4 days of which were spent with my parents on a trip to Cape Town.  I so wanted to get to meet Granny, but unfortunately things didn’t pan out that way because I didn’t have a vehicle of my own.  I have solemnly vowed that the next time I am in Cape Town with my own car, I will definitely go and see her and Jasmine.  The rest of my leave was spent lazying about at home, sleeping late, reading and popping out for the occasional coffee with Elizabeth or an eleven-‘o-clock-wine session with Ann.  I even popped onto Carmen and Gina’s office to surprise them.  I haven’t seen Gina in over a year.  It was good to touch base with everyone again.  Now the new season lies ahead, so I will have to knuckle down.

I have been back at work for two days and it feels like I wasn’t away – but everything I have done in these past two days is new and exciting so it is all good.  I am now learning how to determine how long a strawberry will take to be ripe-for-picking from the time it is a closed flower.  I know that from an open flower to fruit, it is six weeks.  It was nice to come back yesterday and everyone was happy to see me.  Both Sandra and Jenna gave me a bear hug.  I think Sandra is glad I’m back because she is a little technologically challenged, so she can press on my buttons now when she wants to toss her laptop into the dam.  Jenna is happy I’m back because now she has someone to moan to about her fiancé, Fred.

Creatively, I’m feeling a bit uninspired, so if anyone feels like tossing a topic or two at me to get the juices flowing again, please feel free…

 Right, best I get back to work, ‘til later…

4 thoughts on “A Slow Come-Back

  1. cindy August 3, 2010 / 3:50 pm

    Welcome back my dear, the inspiration will come in good time.
    I am no expert on dieting, but good luck.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit August 3, 2010 / 4:04 pm

      Thank you Cin – I wanted to blog while I was on leave, but there was just nothing te tell.

      The dieting is going well, so far…BUT it is still early days.

  2. adeeyoyo August 3, 2010 / 4:01 pm

    Long time no see! I hope Jake is as nice in real life as he seems on the phone. Wouldn’t it be wonderful…?

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit August 3, 2010 / 4:16 pm

      Hi Adee, I will pop onto your blog to do some catching up when I have time, probably tonight…

      As for Jake, honestly…I would love it if he is. I am truly taken with him. Sometimes it frightens me to think that I may very well be in love with him, but it is so exhilerating at the same time.

Leave a Reply

