Telepathy?

I firmly believe in telepathy.  I believe that if someone’s name pops into my head that I must do something for that person – be it say a prayer, send them a text message, phone them or, if they’re close enough, go and see them.  For the most part, these feelings I have are seldom wrong, but it hardly ever happens that I am the person whose name pops into someone else’s thought – yet, it happened twice yesterday…

The first time was a text from Larry, a friend very close to my heart, who is resident in Port Elizabeth.  I haven’t heard from him in quite some time, so it was a pleasant surprise to get a text message from him – all it read was, “Hey Babes, just wanted to hear how things are going your side, I’m thinking of you a lot today.”  Now, I hit a bit of a downer yesterday, so the message came through at the exact moment I needed an outlet other than Rachel who I am on Skype with every day.  I simply replied back, “Sorting through some issues, but for the most part I’m ok.  Going on leave on Monday so it will help to clear my head a bit.”

Then…

I received another text message, this time from a number not saved in my phone book.  It read:

“Celebrate the flaws in your personality because without those flaws you wouldn’t have a personality and be the unique person you are.”

 Curious as to who the sender may be, I replied, “Thanks, but who are you?”

 Their Reply:  “Sorry, wrong number.”

 My Reply: “No problem.  That message was quite fitting for me today, so thanks again.”

 Late’ish last night I received yet another message from the unknown number.

“So, if it’s not a rude question.  Who are you?  Glad that my ill sent quote was of use to somebody today.”

My Reply:  “It’s not a rude question, but I asked first.”

Their Reply:  “Fair comment.  My name is Jake.  I’m from Jhb.  I typed a number wrong and stumbled onto you.”

My Reply:  “Hi Jake, I’m xxxxx.  I live in the Garden Route.  I needed a bit of cheer today so your message was appreciated, even if it was an accident.  Enjoy your evening.”

Jake’s Reply:  “Nice to meet you xxxxx.  Nice part of the world to live in.  Glad I could be of help.  You have a good evening now and smile.”

Which I duly did…I can’t help wondering if I will hear from Jake again.  Part of me is intrigued by this telepathic stranger, and part of me is terrified…I have promised myself though that I will not make contact with him, in case he does turn out to be a few clowns short of a circus.

Just a moment ago, I plucked up the courage to text Mark.  We spoke to each other on Saturday evening for the first time since he decided to ignore me.  I took him on in front of his dad who happened to be there too.  He denied that he had been ignoring me, and I decided to leave it be.  We had two dances and at the end of the evening I went to say goodbye to him (sometimes I think I’m way too well brought up for my own good), and he told me to text him sometime.  I told him he had my number…

But, as Fate would have it, his name has kept popping into my head today and the more I ignored it, the more it plagued me until I eventually grabbed my cell phone and sent him a message. 

“Hi.  I promised myself I wasn’t going to contact you so quickly, but your name has been popping into my head the whole day, so I thought I better do the right thing and find out if you’re okay.”

I wasn’t expecting a reply in light of his past behaviour, but I did.  Moments after I sent it…I was almost speechless.

“Yes.  I’m ok, but sorting out a lot of crap.  Hope things are well your side.”

I have decided that I’m not going to reply straight away.  I will later.  After all, his name isn’t popping into my head anymore.

6 thoughts on “Telepathy?

  1. adeeyoyo July 14, 2010 / 4:40 pm

    Another great post, MTM! I’m so glad things are looking up for you. I also believe in telepathy.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit July 14, 2010 / 6:42 pm

      Thank you Adeeyoyo. I hope that I will be able to sort through my issues and that Mark will see how hard I’m trying.

  2. cindy July 14, 2010 / 5:56 pm

    Like you and adee, I also believe in telepathy.
    Jake sounds interesting…

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit July 14, 2010 / 6:44 pm

      I believe that we are linked to the special people in our lives and that when we think of them, they need us.

      As for Jake, he does sound interesting, doesn’t he. I’m quite intrigued by him.

  3. granny1947 July 15, 2010 / 8:34 am

    Good Morning Mid-thirty…also believe in telepathy…often know who is on the phone before I answer!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit July 15, 2010 / 11:13 am

      I’m not that good Granny…I will have to practice more 🙂

Leave a Reply

