G.N.O. Update

I am in DIRE need of a massage. The left side of my neck is so tense that my shoulder is cramping, and as a result, I’m not the happiest of campers. Unfortunately, I am going to have to settle for a heating pad on the afflicted area.

Mark finally got to speak to Rachel and, as is her nature, she cut to the chase asking who Linda was. He proceeded to give her some long schpiel about how he had in actual fact only met Linda the night before. Needless to say, Rachel was not amused. She told him that it appeared to her that he and Linda had known each other quite some time, judging from the way she was hanging on him. Mark then had the nerve to tell Rachel that he really does want to get to know her better. She told him that on a one-to-one basis that is not going to happen and then he used what he thought would be his best defence – attacking her about Kyle…why do men always have to exhibit such adolescent behaviour? I pestered her for his number (because he really is attractive to me on a number of levels) and she gave it to me.

I sent him a text message on Monday just to say that I had enjoyed meeting him (and received no reply), so I took a bit more of an “aggressive” approach yesterday asking him out to coffee this afternoon. I waited rather long for a reply, but he may have been busy. Or ignoring me (more probable, considering he is into Rachel and because he may very well think she is trying to smear him off on me). He was still pestering the hell out of her yesterday, until she pretty much told him to take a long walk of a short pier. Story of my life – when I’m into a guy he is either married or gay…now that I’m into a guy that is not married, nor involved (I think), who is straight, it would have appeared that he couldn’t care less.

But…

Yesterday afternoon just before I was about to get into my car to go home for some R & R, he phoned.

He told me that he was phoning me because Rachel had berated him for not replying to my text and that his lack of manners was making her think even less of him that she had after Saturday night. He also told me that he wasn’t sure if Rachel and I were playing some kind of game to see if he was a player himself, or if my invitation was genuine.

My blood started simmering, so I told him, “we are decent girls. We’re adults. We don’t need to play games. I pestered Rachel for your number because I wanted to get to know you better, but you know what, what you’ve just said is a damn low blow. I want to have coffee with you, but I am not going to beg you. The offer still stands, but please, don’t feel obligated.”

My attitude very quickly got his attention. He told me he would consider it and get back to me today.

I didn’t have to wait long…

He texted me last night, interrupting a very important Blackjack hand, wanting to know if I had spoken to Rachel again. I replied saying I had, but it was quick, because she was on her way out with Kyle, but I did remember to tell him that she was glad he was going to have coffee with me.

Seconds later he phoned me wanting to know why she would be happy he was having coffee with me. I was very tempted to tell him to drop dead because he is acting like some adolescent teen, but I behaved and said she was glad because he had taken note of her beration.

He told me that he would like to meet for coffee today and then chatted to me about how he has gambled online before and that he was going to watch a movie in bed on his laptop. The call ended well, with me smiling rather broadly.

I got home quite late and saw a text from him saying that he was going to bed. I didn’t reply because I didn’t want to disturb him.

And so, there is coffee on the menu, and hopefully, maybe…a potential romance.

7 thoughts on “G.N.O. Update

  1. granny1947 June 3, 2010 / 11:10 am

    I don’t know if I am misreading this but I wouldn’t touch him with a bargepole…sounds like you would be settling for second best.
    My tuppence worth!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit June 13, 2010 / 9:51 pm

      Thanks for your tuppence worth Granny. I can honestly say that now, after two weeks, I don’t think he’s second best. He is showing some strong character traits.

  2. theonlycin June 3, 2010 / 12:59 pm

    Yep, I’m going with granny’s instinct on this one.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit June 13, 2010 / 9:50 pm

      I was also wary Cin, but once you see my new post, you will see that it looks like my little pep talk sorted him out.

  3. libras child June 3, 2010 / 11:20 pm

    bloody hell! i feel a bit better now… i got ‘dumped’ by a ‘not really relationship’ today with slightly dodgy/idiotic background info. men…

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit June 13, 2010 / 9:50 pm

      LC – I don’t know if I should be happy to have “helped”…

Leave a Reply

