The Windfall Continues

The other day I blogged about an (un)expected parcel, see https://reflectionsofamisfit.wordpress.com/2010/05/27/good-better-best/ which The Original Cin (http://theoriginalcin.wordpress.com) referred to as a windfall in her comment, saying that she hoped it would continue.  Well, it looks like it has…

Last night Rachel and I had plans to pop out for drinks, but we opted to visit at my house instead because it was too cold and wet to go anywhere.  To ward off the cold, we each had a glass of Boplaas Chocolate Port, and then another, and then another, and then another, and then the bottle was finished *gasp*! 

While we were chatting, our conversation was interrupted by the phone – my parents, wanting to find out what I was up to and to find out just how much, if any, interest I have in the FIFA 2010 World Cup.  I told them that I’d like to watch the opening match (which our boss is letting us leave work early for) and any games that England, Brazil or Italy would be playing in.  I have a penchant for British men (they all seem to have such open faces), the Brazilians are just so hot-blooded and the Italians just ooze sex appeal.

Dad then pipes up, “Oh, I have two tickets for the game between Algeria and England in Cape Town on the 18th of June.  The bank phoned me today to tell me I qualified for them due to the kind of account I have with them.  If you want them, they’re yours.”  I could hardly believe my ears. 

Now would be a good time to mention that I know diddly-squat about the game itself, but what I do know is that there is definitely some eye-candy to be seen on the field.  Or is that meant to be pitch? I know too that David Beckham is injured and will not be taking part, but maybe he will still be visible on the bench.

The atmosphere is also going to be electric, and it is going to be something that not many other people I know will be able to enjoy.  I will be able to say, “I was there.”  It is going to be a phenomenal memory maker.

I am uber-excited, and have already told Sandra, my superior, that I am planning to put in for a day’s leave on the 18th.  So far she seems to be leaning towards authorizing it.  *Squee!* 

I am wondering if I should push my luck and go and play some Blackjack or Roulette tomorrow (after I’ve recovered from the effects of tonight’s dancing) to see if the windfall still continues.

8 thoughts on “The Windfall Continues

  1. theonlycin May 29, 2010 / 9:15 am

    Gosh Girl, you’d better buy a ticket for Lotto and Powerball tonight!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 29, 2010 / 9:42 am

      Cindy, you’re right! Who knows, I may win enough to be able to enjoy a leisurely holiday.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 30, 2010 / 10:58 am

      Id – that was the plan this morning, but I chose to catch up on some sleep – I had a girls’ night out and only got home at 5AM!

  2. Lyndatjie May 29, 2010 / 4:02 pm

    If Sandra doesn’t authorise it I will personally blow down her tires! This is a chance in a million – congratulations and enjoy!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 30, 2010 / 10:57 am

      Lyndatjie – it’s not SO busy that they can’t do without me for a day. I’m sure she’ll cave…

  3. Adeeyoyo May 31, 2010 / 8:21 am

    Wonderful for you! I am green with envy.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit June 13, 2010 / 9:57 pm

      Adeeyoyo – I will take pics and then post on my blog for you to see.

Leave a Reply

