A Novel Idea…

I recently received a magazine in the mail with various bits ‘n pieces in it – articles ranging from financial management, to cooking, to lifestyle…

One bit that did attract my attention was about Book Crossing.  According to the website (http://www.bookcrossing.com), the definition is as follows:

n. the practice of leaving a book in a public place to be picked up and read by others, who then do likewise.

(added to the Concise Oxford English Dictionary in August 2004)

In today’s day and age where almost everything we deal with is electronic, I think this is a novel idea (pardon the pun!) to share something I’m passionate about…books and reading. 

I have joined the book crossing community – now I just have to decide which of my precious prints I am willing to set free.  My Jeffrey Deaver and James Patterson books are staying right at home with me though…I just can’t bear to part with them.

13 thoughts on “A Novel Idea…

  1. cindy May 23, 2010 / 3:32 pm

    Kimstories over at Letterdash has a ‘releasing’ philosopy; send me your postal address (have you got my email addy, otherwise do it on Facebook) and I’ll ‘release’ some books to you.

  2. lyndatjie May 24, 2010 / 5:28 am

    I’ve been sitting here for about 5 minutes wondering which book in my library to release… and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m going to need intense therapy before I can do this… help! 😦

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 24, 2010 / 8:40 am

      Lyndatjie – this is going to be a form of therapy for me. It is going to be hard, but baby steps…I found a copy of a James Patterson book called Judge and Jury (why I have two I don’t know), so I am going to release it. Take one off your shelf that you feel you can part with and then once you have, console yourself with something like chocolate or wine. I think that may help.

    • adeeyoyo May 25, 2010 / 8:57 pm

      Much as I think it is a brilliant idea, I can’t bear to part with a book I love. And the number of books I’ve lent to friends – well you know as well as I do, they never get returned (lol).

      • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 26, 2010 / 7:50 am

        As I said to Libra’s Child, I would be willing to part with books on my shelf it if meant that I would be making space for the ones I really WANT. As for loaning books – I have a somewhat authoritarian stance on that – I will lend my books to certain friends only and then they literally sign it out from me, acknowledging that they will return it by a certain date as well as cough up the cash value or a replacement of the same title if it isn’t returned in the condition they received it. Believe me, it works…

        BTW, thanks for the visit!

  3. libras child May 24, 2010 / 10:25 am

    I’ve wanted to take part in that type of thing, prob works really well in the UK but I don’t want to set any books free, just collect… not very good of me!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 26, 2010 / 7:43 am

      LC – honestly, I am a collector too, but there are some books in my collection I would be willing to part with if it meant making space for the ones I really WANT…

  4. grandawn May 24, 2010 / 10:00 pm

    A friend who owns a coffee shop decided to clear out some books from her bookshelves at home. She brought books into the coffee shop for customers to take and read and then return for someone else to read. She started with a few on a table.

    She now has a bookshelf that is overflowing because customers are also bringing in books to share. This has initiated many conversations between customers who would normally not speak to each other – sharing their views about different books. Ahhh – the power of the written word.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 26, 2010 / 7:47 am

      Wow! What a wonderful idea! Not only did it connect her patrons, who under nomal circumstance would most likely never have spoken to one another, but it also means that there is constant flow of business through her coffee shop.

      And…thanks for your visit!

  5. lyndatjie May 26, 2010 / 7:49 pm

    Ok – I looked again and I found a double volume of David Morrell’s Double Image (pretty ironic huh?). And even though its a copy of a much loved book – I am still getting heart pulpitations just thinking of leaving it somewhere…
    So… to get myself emotionally ready I’m thinking of leaving the book in the Oncology Reception room where my mum gets her cancer treatment.
    I’m taking her tomorrow morning – so wish me luck…

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 26, 2010 / 9:47 pm

      Lyndatjie, did you register on bookcrossing.com or are you going to release it sommer net so? I have registered two books on bookcrossing.com already. Good luck with your release tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

