Catch 22

I was offered a promotion on Tuesday.

Kind of.

I think.

Many of you don’t know the history, but in short, I began working for a local strawberry grower last September (after having been unemployed for nearly 6 months – after resigning from my job of nearly 11 years. In the middle of a global recession, I know…) as Sales Manager and three weeks into my new job, the company went into provisional liquidation. I think you’ll all agree that I have rather rotten luck.

After much backwards and forwards and bureaucratic red tape, the company was bought over as a going concern by another (rasp- and straw-) berry grower, with a concern in the West Midlands of the UK, as well as another concern right here in South Africa. The takeover took place just over three weeks ago and it has been a roller coaster ride so far, with an information overload of note. The core team is dedicated and well informed, and above all, they know what they want and how they want it done. This leaves no margin for error because each person knows that they are responsible for, and, because they know this, there is no confusion (well, most days anyway) and work appears to be getting done quicker. This is where a gap has been noticed and how the offer came about.

Sandra*, our Quality Assurance and Packhouse Manager was promoted to Operations Manager and she has recommended me to fill her shoes, whilst still handling my position of Sales Manager. Half of me is honoured that she has that kind of faith and confidence in me, and the other half is absolutely terrified because:

1.) My own job kept me busy for up 16 hours a day in season – where am I going to find the time to do another person’s job?

2.) I have no Quality Control, never mind -Assurance experience at all, although I am busy getting quotations to do the three most important courses before the end of July. Just when I promised myself I wouldn’t be touching another text book for at least a year.

3.) I will be in charge of a number of people in the pack-house who have years more experience than me. I’m also a lot younger than most of them…

4.) I haven’t even accepted the job yet and it’s already causing ructions between my parents and I. I honestly wish I could find a job in Cape Town, or abroad so that I can start earning a liveable salary and get my own place.

To follow procedure, the position will be advertised internally and candidates can apply, but this is apparently just a formality. The job is mine if I want it, but I will make an honest consideration once I know exactly what the package is. I am dead sure that I will not be doing two people’s work for the same salary I’m earning now. I may be mad, but I’m not stupid!

Now, you may be wondering why I said I think I have been offered a promotion…well, it basically boils down to if I don’t apply for the position, it will be filled by someone else and I will effectively become redundant. Marvellous, just bloody marvellous…

7 thoughts on “Catch 22

  1. cindy May 20, 2010 / 1:52 pm

    Climb the ladder Kiddo, this is just one rung.

  2. Mid-Thirty Misfit May 20, 2010 / 2:59 pm

    I have no other choice at the moment but to Cindy…I will still keep my eyes peeled for something else.

  3. granny1947 May 20, 2010 / 3:28 pm

    You had better get your butt into gear and apply….good luck!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 21, 2010 / 11:50 am

      Granny, I am just waiting for the advert to be placed and see what the package is, but in the meantime I am lining up the info on the courses I need to get done.

  4. Adeeyoyo May 31, 2010 / 7:47 am

    Sorry I’m so late in reading your posts up to date. I hope the package is/was good!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 31, 2010 / 7:55 am

      The post still hasn’t been advertised yet Adeeyoyo, but I have some (probably not supposed to have it) inside info that the package is reasonably better than what I’m getting now. Sandra has also mentioned another position she thinks I would be suited for, so I’m taking a look at that too.

Leave a Reply

