Have You Ever Been in Love?

Some time ago, I took my CD wallet out of my car and forgot where I put it. This isn’t an unusual thing for me to do – I never put my keys in the same place twice, nor do I get dressed in the same sequence twice. It’s one of those quirks that is individual to a few others like me. So, when I didn’t find the CD wallet to put it back in my car, I just wrote a few MP 3 discs, which, up until recently were what I listened to in the car.

Out of the blue, I found the wallet again and have thus been rehashing some of the CD’s in it. There are some good memories there and some music that I can’t believe I ever listened to, let alone, enjoyed. One CD, or rather, song on a particular CD had me so reflective that I only realized I was crying when I looked in the rearview mirror and saw my sodden cheeks.

It was Celine Dion’s version of Have You Ever Been in Love.

Oddly enough, it came on when I was about 10 minutes away from work on my way home and the sky was a golden bronze haze, dotted with pink clouds…almost identical to that first evening I met Paul* at the airport in Johannesburg.

We had met online, in a Trivia chatroom and we immediately realized we were kindred spirits. Eventually cellphone numbers were swapped and daily text messages became the order of the day. We had a few really fun virtual dates (dates, not cybersex) and after, we would have a real phone chat. One morning we sat talking until four in the morning.

He was in Johannesburg, and I was in the Cape, and at that time, the radio station here played the same music every day and this song in particular would always tug at my heartstrings. Paul eventually started listening to the stream on the net and inevitably when it would play, one of us would text the other almost instintively.

I will never forget the day I was standing in Aunty Carol’s* kitchen, nowhere close to a radio, when I got a text saying, “So, have you ever been in love?” Without thinking twice, I replied, “I am now.” Not soon after that I went to Johannesburg to meet him – and no, it wasn’t love at first sight. He was almost a head shorter than me (and that is saying something because I’m only one point six meters tall), but there was just something about him that made me think, “he’s perfect.”

We spent the weekend together – falling asleep holding hands the first night and spending most of the next morning exploring one another. It wasn’t carnal lust, it was tender passion. We made love, yet loved one another with each breath.

The Sunday he took me back to the airport, things were awkward (and I was very naive to think they wouldn’t be), and while we did stay in touch, our communications were vague. It took me a long while to get over the fact that I’d slept with a man I didn’t really know, but I never regretted it. We both moved on and eventually lost contact completely.

It was April or May 2008 when I received a text message from a number I didn’t know – telling me that Paul and his son had been killed in a tragic motor vehicle accident in Namibia (his home country) and that his brother was in critical condition in hospital. I was stunned. I got into my car and went to my then-boyfriend for an engagement with him and his family, but by the time I got there, I couldn’t hide the shock, nor the sadness. I apologised to them, got back in my car and went to sit at the beach. It struck me like the proverbial ton of bricks that I had loved Paul, as short lived as our “relationship” had been.

Not soon after, I received another text from the same number who had let me know of the tragedy, wanting to know if I wanted the letters I had (hand)written Paul. I was speechless. Not because I didn’t know if I wanted them back or not, but because he had kept them. I got them back, along with a photo of him and again, soft tears stained my cheeks.

And today, in almost identical weather to the first time we met, Have you Ever been in Love played in my car and I silently mourned for a love lost. Part of me cried because I realized that I made a mistake not fighting for it to work, but the other part of me cried as I once again realized, I have been in love…with Paul. He made me touch the moonlight…he made my heart shoot stars…he made me walk on air…he made me feel like I was dreaming.

So yes, I have. Have YOU ever been in love?

*Not their real names

22 thoughts on “Have You Ever Been in Love?

  1. Pokey May 17, 2010 / 7:48 pm

    Hi. Just wanted to find out how to receive a email when you have blogged, but I see here on this page, notify me of new posts via email. I have ticked it, so lets see if it works. Grab a banana. Real great big one….

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 18, 2010 / 5:19 am

      Hiya Pokey, if you’ve ticked the box, you will get a notification in your inbox everytime I post something. It doesn’t for one minute mean you don’t have to visit my blog to comment.

  2. Madmom May 17, 2010 / 7:50 pm

    Bittersweet memories.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 18, 2010 / 5:18 am

      Madmom! I’m so glad to stopped by.

      It is strange how something like an ordinary song can trigger such happiness, and heartache at the same time.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 18, 2010 / 5:22 am

      Thanks Zirkie! I am chuffed that you have popped over from 24.com to visit my new home.

  3. Pheasant Plucker May 17, 2010 / 9:34 pm

    What a beautiful story, thanks for sharing. we are going to miss you on letterdash. This format seems rather user unfriendly but maybe I am just not used to it. All the best, PP.

  4. cindy May 18, 2010 / 3:34 am

    Oh Honey, this is such an honest piece of writing. Very beautiful and sad.

    (You haven’t activated your rating yet, otherwise I’d have given you stars).

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 18, 2010 / 5:15 am

      Thank you Cin. This was truly a reflection of a misfit…

      At the risk of sounding totally stupid, how do I activate my rating? WordPress is proving to be a tad user-unfriendly.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 18, 2010 / 2:29 pm

      You can give me stars now, I finally figured out the activation thing!

  5. granny1947 May 18, 2010 / 10:11 am

    So nicely written…gave me goosebumps.

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 18, 2010 / 10:38 am

      Thank you Granny. Strangely enough, I have never even thought to blog about Paul, but after hearing that song last night, I just HAD to.

  6. EverMe May 18, 2010 / 11:59 am

    Oh Geez!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 18, 2010 / 2:19 pm

      I hope that’s a good Oh Geez EverMe…thanks for stopping by.

      • EverMe May 19, 2010 / 9:09 am

        Is just so sad! Touches me alot at this point in my life.

      • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 19, 2010 / 9:21 am

        EM – Strange how one person’s thoughts and feelings co-incide with someone else’s…
        One thing someone said to me about sadness caused by a relationship is, “don’t cry ’cause it’s over (for whatever reason), smile because it happened.”

  7. nrhatch May 18, 2010 / 3:16 pm

    I responded to you on Only Cin, but thought I’d post here as well:

    You said that you were randomly visiting blogs on WP without knowing whether your comments were heard:

    One way to follow blogs, without a blog roll, would be to subscribe to blogs that appeal to you.

    Another is to create a post of your favorite blogs and add to it periodically.

    A third idea ~ subscribe to comments to receive notification of follow ups.

    That said, creating a blog roll in WP usually requires adding a “widget” to the side bar of your blog. It seems that is already in place.

    Once the blogroll is in place, it’s super easy to add WP blogs to it. If you’re on another WP blog, click on “Blog Info” on the top margin ~ then click on “Add to my blogroll.” Done.

    Now, I enjoyed reading this ~ but it was hard to read white letters on a gray background. You might consider making your blog more “reader friendly” (to pull in more readers), but switching to dark letters on a light background.

    Cheers!

    • Mid-Thirty Misfit May 19, 2010 / 9:20 am

      Hello! Thank you very much for all your help. I really liked the look of the theme I chose because it reflected the personality of my blog, but I understand your point about it not being reader-friendly. When I have a moment, I will take a look at other themes and see if I can find something a little more suitable.

      I think it’s a case of this old dog having to learn new tricks and my lack of patience is getting the better of me.

      Thanks very much for your visit!

      • nrhatch May 19, 2010 / 3:06 pm

        Looks great! Good luck with the new layout.

        I made a similar suggestion to another blogger and her readership doubled.

        Now, when people stumble into her blog, they stick around to see what she has to say.

        Cheers!

Leave a Reply

